COPYRIGHT (C) 2013 CASWELL COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
HANDGUN PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
A county sheriff is only authorized under N.C.G.S. § 14-402 to issue
a permit to receive or purchase a handgun when an application is
submitted by a person who is a resident of his or her particular county.
Prior to issuing a permit, the sheriff must fully satisfy himself by
affidavits, oral evidence, or otherwise, that the applicant is of good
moral character and that the person, firm, or corporation wants to possess the weapon for one of the
a. The protection of the applicant's home, business, person, family, or property;
b. Target shooting;
Additionally, the sheriff must verify, by a criminal history background investigation, that it is not a violation of state or
federal law for the applicant to purchase, transfer, receive or possess a handgun. The sheriff shall determine the
criminal history of any applicant by accessing computerized criminal history records as maintained by the State
and Federal Bureaus of Investigation, by conducting a national criminal history records check, and by conducting
a criminal history check through the Administrative Office of the Courts. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-404.
Handgun Permit Application
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
be twenty-one (21) years of age
be a resident of Caswell County and a resident of North Carolina for thirty (30)
be a citizen or naturalized citizen of the United States of America
not suffer from any mental or physical infirmity which would prevent safe handgun
handling and operation
provide a valid N.C. driver's license or other picture ID with current address
provided by the state of North Carolina
successfully complete a firearms training and safety course that has been
designed by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission (See
Yellow Pages or a firearms dealer for businesses that provide training)
A criminal background check is performed on each applicant before granting the
permit. The processing of the concealed carry weapons permit takes much longer
than the handgun purchase permit. The Sheriff has forty-five (45) days from the
time all application materials, to include receipt of the mental health records, are
received to either issue or deny a permit. N.C. Gen. Stat. §14-415-15(a).
Anyone interested in applying for a concealed carry weapon permit must make an appointment by
calling (336) 694-9311.
Applicant must apply in person and have a verifiable training certificate and a valid picture ID in
hand (NC driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the state of North
A Concealed Weapon Permit requires a $94.00 non-refundable fee payable by cash, money order
or check. If paying with cash, please bring exact amount.
You can download the Concealed Handgun Application below. You MUST download and complete
all three documents. DO NOT sign the concealed handgun permit. Your signature MUST be
signed and notarized in front of the person receiving the permit application.
CCW Application Instructions
CCW Mental Heath Release Form
Renewal Of Concealed Handgun Permit.
It is the applicant’s responsibility to renew the permit before it expires. The permit will expire at 12
am on the date listed on the card. You can renew your permit up to 90 days prior to the
expiration date. If a permit expires you may not carry your weapon concealed until a new permit
has been obtained. You must fill out the complete concealed handgun permit application and
check the appropriate renal box at the top right hand side. The forms can be downloaded above.
The renewal fee is $75.00
Change-of-address procedure for Concealed Handgun Permits issued in Caswell County.
You must appear in person at the Caswell County Sheriff's Office within 30 days of a
change of address.
Any time you have a change of residence, you must appear in person to complete a
change-of-address form. At that point, you will be given a letter, which indicates that you
have made notification of your address change. You must carry this letter in addition to
your current CCW permit.
If you do not wish to carry both the letter and your CCW permit, you may apply for a
duplicate CCW card. The cost of the duplicate card is $15.
If you are moving out of Caswell County, you must go to the Sheriff's Office in the county
to which you have moved to apply for the duplicate card. DO NOT go to that Sheriff's
Office until you have personally appeared in Caswell County and completed the above-
mentioned change-of-address process. The Sheriff's Office in the county to which you
have moved cannot make any changes until Caswell County releases your records.
Caswell County Sheriff’s Office
231 County Park Rd
Yanceyville, NC 27379